OCFA

About the OCFA

The OC Faculty Association represents more than 300 faculty members of Okanagan College. It serves to maintain and promote the professional status of the members of the Association, to regulate relations between faculty and OC through collective bargaining, and to function as a trade union pursuant to the laws of British Columbia.

OCFA Contacts

OCFA Executive

President Sharon Mansiere 250-328-2206 smansiere@okanagan.bc.ca
First VP, Chief Steward Rod Watkins 250-804-9973 rpwatkins@okanagan.bc.ca
Second VP, Bargaining Chair Alan Rice 250-215-7265 alandrice@gmail.com
Secretary Janice McQuilkin 250-470-4147 jmcquilkin@okanagan.bc.ca
Treasurer Randy Brown 250-765-3339 rbrown@okanagan.bc.ca
Faculty Liaison - Arts Raluca Fratiloiu 4582 rfratiloiu@okanagan.bc.ca
Faculty Liaison - Business Vacant    
Faculty Liaison - Health Gurpreet Dhatt 4604  gdhatt@okanagan.bc.ca
Faculty Liaison - Non-Instructional Sarah Lefebure 3232 slefebure@okanagan.bc.ca 
Faculty Liaison - Science Bruce Campbell 4784  bcampbell@okanagan.bc.ca
Faculty Liaison - Technology Joe Hobart 4402 jhobart@okanagan.bc.ca
Area Representative - Kelowna Laura Loewen 4776  lloewen@okanagan.bc.ca
Area Representative - Penticton Jeremy Beaulne 3225 jbeaulne@okanagan.bc.ca
Area Representative - Salmon Arm Brian May 8212  bmay@okanagan.bc.ca
Area Representative - Vernon Vacant    
Decolonization, Reconciliation, and Indigenization Representative Dallas Good Water   dgoodwater@okanagan.bc.ca
Human Rights and International Solidarity Rep Tim Walters 8251  twalters@okanagan.bc.ca
Non-Continuing Faculty Representative Emma Lind 4327  elind@okanagan.bc.ca
Pension Advisory Representative Elena Mitropolsky 4524  emitropolsky@okanagan.bc.ca
Status of Women Representative Eva Gavaris 3224 egavaris@okanagan.bc.ca
Workplace Health, Safety, Environment Representative Youry Khmelevsky 4741 ykhmelevsky@okanagan.bc.ca
Kelowna Campus Steward Sean Johnston 4672 sjohnston@okanagan.bc.ca
Penticton Campus Steward Colin Wallace 3334 cwallace@okanagan.bc.ca
Salmon Arm Campus Steward

Jeremy Lanaway

2214

jlanaway@okanagan.bc.ca

Vernon Campus Steward Art Boehm 2243 aboehm@okanagan.bc.ca
Ad Hoc Climate Emergency Committee Linda Elmose lelmose@okanagan.bc.ca
Professional & Scholarly Development Committee Sean Johnston SJohnston@okanagan.bc.ca
Contract Administration Review Rod Watkins rpwatkins@okanagan.bc.ca
Bargaining Coordination Alan Rice arice@okanagan.bc.ca
Disability Management & Rehabilitation Laura Loewen lloewen@okanagan.bc.ca
Decolonization, Reconciliation & Indigenization Norah Bowman NBowman@okanagan.bc.ca
Education Policy Alan Rice arice@okanagan.bc.ca
Human Rights & International Solidarity Terry Bridges TBridges@okanagan.bc.ca
Status of Women Olivia Sullivan OSullivan@okanagan.bc.ca
Pension Advisory Elena Mitropolsky emitropolsky@okanagan.bc.ca
Workplace Health, Safety & Environment Youry Khmelevsky YKhmelevsky@okanagan.bc.ca
Non-Regular Faculty Emma Lind elind@okanagan.bc.ca
President's Council Sharon Mansiere smansiere@okanagan.bc.ca
College Pension Board of Trustees Doug Birtwistle dbirtwistle@okanagan.bc.ca

Professional Development (PD) Committees

Arts
Corinna Chong (English)
Sean Johnston (English)

Business
Adrian Fontenla 
Glen Coulthard

Science, Technologies & Health (STH)
Carolyn Hawes (Nursing)
John Kenny (Civil Engineering Technology)

ESL (Extended Study Leave)

Andrew Hay (Chair)
Yvonne Moritz (OC)
Allison O'Neill (Technologies)
Leora Dahl (Arts)
Julie Dais (Science)
Lindsay Willson (Non-Instructional)
Mark Ziebarth (Business)

GIA (Grants in Aid)

Ross Tyner (Chair)
Youry Khmelevsky (STH)
Sean Johnston (AFP)
Glendon Wiebe (Non-Instructional)
Blair Baldwin (Business)

Professional Allowance Committee

Jennifer Hobart (Chair) (Mathematics & Statistics)
Yvonne Moritz (College Rep)
Laura Loewen (Psychology)

OCFA Investment Committee*

Doug Birtwistle (Chair) (Mathematics & Statistics)
Steve Watson (Business)
Roën Janyk (Library)
Elena Mitropolsky (Business)

*OCFA Council Standing Committee

OCFA Human Rights & International Solidarity Committee*

Terry Bridges (Chair) (Physics & Astronomy)
Norah Bowman (Interdisciplinary Studies/English)
Bruce Campbell (Biology)

*OCFA Council Standing Committee

OCFA Meetings

Council Meetings

Council meetings are via Zoom and scheduled 2-5 pm
September
October
November
December
January
February
March
April
May
June
 

General Meetings

Winter General Meeting: January 29, 5:30 - 8:30 pm
AGM: April 30, 5:30 - 8:30 pm

Campus Socials

Spoiler alert! Like everything right now, socials are online. 

Socials are an opportunity to meet with members of the executive and council of your union, as well as with other faculty.  The locations below represent which campus representative is hosting, but socials are open to all members across campuses.

No socials are currently scheduled. 

OCFA Resources

OCFA Collective Agreement (two components)

 March 31, 2019 - April 1, 2022
Note: The 2019-2022 agreement is active but OCFA has not yet received an updated copy. The old agreement on the website will be updated when a copy of the new agreement is available.

OCFA Handbook

Information about conditions of your employment and common FAQs. 

OCFA Constitution & Bylaws

Key Dates

Find the important dates and deadlines contained in the collective agreement. If you are in doubt about these dates or if you have any other questions, consult the collective agreement and/or your shop steward .

Probation (Collective agreement reference: Clause 15.3): OC shall notify employees, in writing, not less than two months prior to the expiration of their probationary period indicating whether the probationary period has been successfully completed. An employee who does not receive notification within the specified period shall be deemed to have completed the probationary period.

Professional Development (Collective agreement reference: Article 22): 2-year cycle April 1, 2018 - March 31, 2020. Apply at any time.

Extended Study Leave (Collective agreement reference: Article 24): An employee shall apply to the Extended Study Leave Committee for extended study leave by October 1 of the calendar year preceeding the year in which the extended study leave is to commence. The Extended Study Leave Committee shall review applications no later than November 1 each year and recommend to the OC President candidates for extended study leave. Approval or rejection of an application for extended study leave shall be given by December 1.

Annual Reports (Collective agreement reference: Section 21.1.1): For continuing members, annual reports are to be submitted to the designated supervisor by May 15, for the preceding calendar year. A designated supervisor who wishes to use a faculty member's annual report as part of a summative evaluation must meet with the employee by June 15. The employee has the right to union representation at such a meeting. Term employees are not required to submit an annual report.

Professional Allowance (Collective agreement reference: Clause 37.7): Apply by May 31 to claim expenses incurred during the preceding year.

Vacation (Collective agreement reference: Section 39.1.3): Apply by March 31; OC posts schedule by April 15.

Assignment of Duties for instructional faculty (Collective agreement reference: Section 18.1.3): whenever possible, by May 31.

Salary Increments (Collective agreement reference: Clause 33.4): All continuing faculty members who were employed by OC as of March 31, 2006 shall receive a salary increment each April 1, until the maximum salary is reached. All other employees receive an increment on the anniversary date of the starting day of continuous employment with OC.

Department Chairs (Collective agreement reference: Clause 25.6): The term of a Chair shall normally begin on July 1 and shall normally have a length of three years.

Retirement (Collective agreement reference: Section 26.1.1): Please note that as of January 1, 2008 this collective agreement language is inconsistent with current British Columbia Human Rights legislation which effectively put an end to mandatory retirement. Whle the normal retirement date of June 30 is unchanged there is no longer under our collective agreement any requirement for an employee to retire at age 65.

Resignation (Collective agreement reference: Section 26.3.1): A continuing employee or full-time term employee may resign from any appointment by giving at least two months' notice in writing to the OC President. The resignation shall take effect on the June 30 following the submission of the resignation notice or at the end of his or her appointment term whichever is earlier unless an earlier date is mutually acceptable.

Grievance (Collective agreement reference: Clause 32.2): An employee who wishes to present a grievance at Step 1 of the grievance procedure shall do so by informing his or her designated supervisor in writing no later than 30 working days after the date:
a) which he or she was notified orally or in writing of the action or circumstance giving rise to the grievance; or
b) on which he or she first became aware of the action or circumstances giving rise to the grievance.

Forms for Faculty

Professional Development

PD application and report forms. 

Professional Allowance

Claims are normally submitted once per year through Moodle. Purchases must be made by May 15 of the given year, unless otherwise noted. The form is available through myOkanagan or Moodle.

Grants-in-Aid

Grants-in-Aid guidelines and application information.

Extended Study Leave (ESL)

Application form and guidelines. 

Expense Claims

Find forms including expense claims, mileage claims, and other forms through myOkanagan.

The Update

The Update is OCFA's newsletter to members. It is usually published two to three times annually. The Update contains reports from members of Council and the Executive as well as letters to the editor from OCFA members. Published digitally in PDF format, issues are distributed by e-mail and via this website. Please address any questions about the Update to its editor, Sasha Johnston, OCFA Secretary.

The Update welcomes letters to the editor from members of the Association. Members are encouraged to write either in response to what they read in the newsletter or about other Faculty Association matters. Letters to the Update do not represent the opinions of the editor nor the OCFA Executive. Letters should be sent by e-mail to Sasha Johnston. Preferred formats are MS Word (.doc), rtf or plain text.

Related Links

Other Canadian Faculty Associations & Federations