Health and Safety Committees

Okanagan College has four Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committees referred to as the JOHS Committees.  The JOHS Committees are composed of members from all employee groups including: BCGEU Support Staff, BCGEU Vocational, Okanagan College Faculty Association, Administration, and Management.  The committees work collaboratively to promote health and safety in the workplace.  

Campus committees

Kelowna campus


Name Location Representation  
Jordan Perrey  L104A Employer Co-Chair
Heather Carson S108 BCGEU - SS Co-Chair
Nancy Darling T115C Employer  
Elaine Smith 111D  Employer  
Steve Robinson P111 Employer  
Marcel Beerkens L104G BCGEU - SS  
Frithjof Petscheleit T131C  BCGEU - SS  
Sharon Mansiere  Penticton OCFA   
Kevin McKenzie P105 BCGEU - SS     
Patrick Schryburt  B127 OCFA   
Cam McRobb  T203 BCGEU  

Penticton campus

 Name Location    Representation  
John Mott PL142A OCFA Co-Chair
Juliana Buitenhuis PL139  Employer Co-Chair
Kevin Watters PC 217 BCGEU - SS  
Sharon Mansiere PL106 OCFA  
Lara Scarfo PL140 BCGEU - SS  
Bobbie-Jo Koutsantonis COE 256 BCGEU - SS  
Piper Yacheson PC218 Employer  
Kristine Larson PC217



Salmon Arm campus

 Name Location   Representation  
 Margaret Scharf SA105 Admin Co-Chair
 Shannon Kiehlbauch SA119 BCGEU - SS Co-Chair
Bryan White SA117 Faculty  
Roy Lechner SA149 BCGEU VI  
Brent Moffat Trades - ST01 Admin  
 Joanne Stacey SA103 BCGEU - SS  
Diyame Derrick Carter SA184A BCGEU - SS  
 Dion Boisvenue SA142U BCGEU - SS  
Amber Wasylenka SA132 BCGEU - SS  
Danielle Tighe REV 108A Admin  

Vernon campus

 Joan Smeyers VA312  Admin Co-Chair
Andrew Duffy VD229A BCGEU - SS  
 Carl Doige VD366 OCFA  
 Christy Gelz VE111 Admin  
Michael Chiasson VB102 BCGEU - SS  
 Eric Reist VC312A/B Student Association  
Wendy Ellis VA300 BCGEU - SS  
Shelly Smit VA307 BCGEU - SS  

For committee minutes or inspections contact your local JOHS committee member.