About Education Council

Education Council (also known as EdCo) is an internal governance body of Okanagan College as required by the College and Institute Act. Education Council considers curriculum and educational policies relating to students, standards, planning and operations.

In carrying out the business of Education Council, members exercise their best individual judgment in accordance with the Okanagan College Mission, Vision, Values and Strategic Directions. All eligible members vote freely on all issues considered by Education Council regardless of their association with a particular portfolio/area of the institution.

Council meets on a monthly basis except during July and August. During the summer, and other breaks, the Operations Standing Committee deals with matters requiring action. The Operations Standing Committee is subject to the authority of Education Council and its work is reviewed and ratified by Council.

Other Education Council Standing Committees provide in-depth curriculum (the CPR committees), academic policy (ARP), and calendar review (CCC). These standing committees make recommendations to Education Council and Council relies on its standing committees to ensure appropriate program area expertise as well as the independent perspective provided by additional members from outside the program area. All standing committees report directly to Education Council.

In December 2005, the Okanagan College Education Council officially took over from an Interim Education Council in place during the transition from Okanagan University College (OUC) to Okanagan College.

Okanagan College Education Council has its roots in the Okanagan University College Education Council. The OUC Education Council met for the first time in February of 1995 following substantial changes to the College and Institute Act of British Columbia (“the Act ”). These changes to the Act included the establishment of a bicameral system of institutional governance in which the Board of Governors and Education Council were assigned roles and responsibilities.

OUC Education Council met monthly on a regular basis from February 1995 until April 2005. On March 17, 2004, the BC government announced the  2005 dissolution of OUC and the institution was placed under the control of a government-appointed Public Trustee.

The South Kelowna, Vernon, Penticton, and Salmon Arm campuses of OUC became the new Okanagan College and the Okanagan College Interim Education Council was formed with faculty, staff and students elected to the former OUC Education Council and moving to Okanagan College. To ensure representation from all regions and representative groups, a small number of volunteers were also named to the Interim Education Council. These members, as well as administrators named by the Okanagan College President, met from May to November of 2005.

Following elections, the formally-constituted Okanagan College Education Council began work on December 7, 2005. 

The bylaws under which Education Council operates are available.

While some members of Education Council are appointed, others are elected. Faculty (10 seats) and support staff (two seats) elections take place in the spring; student (four seats) elections take place in the fall.The election rules are available. Election rules (PDF)