Previous Posts(0)
March 2020 (22)
February 2020 (18)
January 2020 (21)
December 2019 (8)
November 2019 (17)
October 2019 (16)
September 2019 (9)
August 2019 (10)
July 2019 (8)
June 2019 (11)
May 2019 (15)
April 2019 (13)
March 2019 (13)
February 2019 (17)
January 2019 (13)
December 2018 (7)
November 2018 (12)
October 2018 (12)
September 2018 (12)
August 2018 (15)
July 2018 (6)
June 2018 (16)
May 2018 (6)
April 2018 (9)
March 2018 (12)
February 2018 (6)
January 2018 (5)
December 2017 (9)
November 2017 (10)
October 2017 (6)
September 2017 (13)
August 2017 (6)
July 2017 (6)
June 2017 (11)
May 2017 (12)
April 2017 (6)
Blog Topics(0)
Records 1 to 1 of 1
Two new members for Okanagan College Board
Okanagan College Media Release

The provincial government recently named Okanagan residents Karley Scott and Dale Safinuk to Okanagan College’s Board for a one-year term, ending July 31, 2020.

Karley Scott Nov 2019Scott has her own business, Karley Scott Consulting, where she drafts law, policy and strategic plans with Indigenous communities and works as an arbitrator, reconciliation coach and carries out Indigenous awareness training. Scott also works with the Parole Board of Canada, participating in hearings in correctional institutions and granting or denying parole. Safinuk is a financial services executive with more than 20 years leadership experience, most recently as District Vice President of TD Bank Financial Group.

Both Safinuk and Scott have served on several community-focused boards and agencies. Scott has been with the boards of the Metis Community Services Society, as well as the local and provincial John Howard Society. Safinuk has served on the Ch’Nook Indigenous Business Education, the United Way of Kamloops, and the TD Friends of the Environment Foundation.

Scott and Safinuk replace departing Board members Charity Gerbrandt (who served six years on the Board) and David Porteous (who served a year on the Board).

“Karley and Dale bring extensive experience to the Board and a commitment to community service in their new roles,” says Board Chair Chris Derickson. “They will be valuable additions to our Board.”

“I believe in the power of education and it has been a large part of my life. I pursued post-secondary education at a young age and then returned later in life, after having my children, and I know how fortunate I am to have had this opportunity. Providing opportunities for post-secondary education is critical to our region, whether for young people or for those who are changing careers,” observes Scott. “I’m excited to be helping direct the development of an institution that has a great reputation for access and student success.”Dale Safinuk Nov 2019

“In my professional life, I saw the direct benefit of Okanagan College’s programs, hiring grads for a number of positions,” notes Safinuk. “I know the quality of the educational offerings and am looking forward to serving on the Board of Governors.”

Several current members of the Board of Governors were reappointed to their positions, including Bob McGowan, Tina Lee, Juliette Cunningham and Shelley Cook. McGowan’s term expires next July, while Lee, Cunningham and Cook have terms that expire in 2021. Other government appointed members of the Board include Derickson and Gloria Morgan, the Board’s Vice-Chair.

Elected members of the board include Devin Rubadeau (representing faculty), Blake Edwards (representing support staff),
Sophie Chair and Neeraj Sharma (representing students). Ex officio members of the Board include President Jim Hamilton, and Education Council Chair Chris Newitt.