Thurnheer named Associate Dean of School of Business

Laura Thurnheer
Laura Thurnheer

Okanagan College’s School of Business will welcome back a familiar face in a new role as Laura Thurnheer will commence duties as an Associate Dean on August 16.

Thurnheer began at the College as a Professor in the School of Business in 2007, and also served as Business Department Chair for six years, before taking up her current post as Associate Dean of Science, Technology and Health in 2018. She will succeed Dr. Barry McGillivray, who will retire this year after more than 35 years with Okanagan College, and 12 as Associate Dean of the School of Business.

Dean William Gillett notes, "There simply isn't sufficient space here to even begin to acknowledge the countless contributions Barry has made to the School of Business and the College, so stay tuned for more on that. In the meantime, I'll just reiterate how much we deeply appreciate his leadership and the extraordinary support and guidance he's provided to faculty, staff and students." 

“We are delighted and feel very fortunate to be able to welcome Laura Thurnheer back to the Okanagan School of Business as Associate Dean,” said Gillett. “Laura has an exceptional history with us, as a teaching faculty member and Chair of the Business Department. She’s a strong advocate for and representative of the College through her extensive community involvement, and she has demonstrated her leadership abilities time and time again during her time at the College.”

Thurnheer advises, “I wish Barry McGillivray all the best in his retirement and look forward to returning to the Okanagan School of Business. I have learnt a great deal in my stay at Science, Technology & Health but most importantly, I have worked with a great group of administrators, faculty, instructors, and staff who are equally dedicated to student success.  I very much appreciated the opportunity Dean Yvonne Moritz provided me and look forward to applying my skills and experience at the Okanagan School of Business.”

“On behalf of everyone in Science, Technology and Health, I want to extend a huge thanks to Laura for her hard work and commitment to us over the last three years. She will certainly be missed. I’m glad that her dedication and abilities will continue to benefit the College and our students,” said Yvonne Moritz, Associate Vice President Education Services and Interim Dean Science, Technology and Health.

In addition to working at the OSB and STH, Laura served two terms as a faculty-elected representative on the Okanagan College Board of Governors from 2012 -2018. She helped to initiate and facilitate the Employee Excellence Awards program over the last ten years. In addition, she has been a member of various committees and working groups as a member of the College’s Leadership team.

Thurnheer is the current Board President of KCR Kelowna Community Resources, Vice-Chair & Treasurer of the British Columbia Wine Authority, and a Board Director with the Chartered Professionals in Human Resources of British Columbia & Yukon (CPHRBC & Yukon). She is a Chartered Professional in Human Resources and holds both her Canadian and American designations.  

Published By Public Affairs on April 27, 2021