Education Council

Under the province’s College and Institute Act, an Education Council consists of 20 voting members, representing the following areas:

     (a) 10 faculty members, elected by the faculty
     (b) Four students, elected by the students
     (c) Two support staff, elected by the support staff
     (d) Four educational administrators, appointed by the College’s President

Members of the 2018-19 Education Council

Chair - Christopher Newitt  

Vice-Chair - Danny Marques

Faculty Representation

   Arts – Chris Newitt
   Business – Roberta Sawatzky
   Foundational Programs - Amanda Krebs
   Health & Social Development – Catherine Farrow 
   Science/Technology – Kevin Douglas
   Trades – Danny Marques

   Shuswap Revelstoke – Tim Walters
   North Okanagan –  Rocio Alejandre
   Central Okanagan – Norah Bowman
   South Okanagan Similkameen – Nicole Davis

Student Representation
    Shuswap Revelstoke – Relan Johanson (to Oct. 31, 2019)
    North Okanagan – 
    Central Okanagan – Nathaniel Lee-Ran (to Oct 31, 2019)
    South Okanagan Similkameen – Amanda Lang (to Oct 31, 2019)

Staff Representation (two)
    Support Staff -  Monica Kananga 
    Support Staff - Debbie Freeman 

Educational Administrators
    Vice President, Education – Dr. Andrew Hay
    Dean, School of Business  – William Gillett
    Director, Continuing Studies – Dr. Dennis Silvestrone
    Director, Library Services – Ross Tyner

Non-voting Members
    President – Jim Hamilton
    Registrar and Secretary to Education Council – Bob Burge 
    Board of Governors representative – Shelley Cook 

More information on the Education Council, including meeting schedules, is available here.

Contact Us

Education Council Office
Maddy Welsh
Phone: 250-762-5445, ext. 4491

Last updated: 2018 10 19