Bruce Howes

Dr. Bruce Howes, Chair (2009-11)

B.A. (Honours) Philosophy/Political Studies: Trent University

M.A. Philosophy: Brock University

Ph. D. Philosophy: University of Ottawa

Area of Specialization: Philosophy of Language, Ethics, and History of Philosophy

Since obtaining his doctorate in 2001, Dr. Howes has taught at Brock University and has taught at OC since 2005.

John Pugsley

Dr. John Pugsley

B.A. (Honours) Philosophy and History: The University of East Anglia, Norwich, United Kingdom.

M.A. Philosophy: The University of Manitoba, Winnipeg.

Ph.D. Philosophy: The University of Calgary, Alberta.

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Early Modern Philosophy, Biomedical Ethics.

Since earning his doctorate in 1989, Dr. Pugsley has taught at the University of Calgary, at Okanagan University College and at Okanagan College.

Dr. Rod Watkins

B.A. Philosophy: Moorhead State University

M.A. Philosophy: Ohio State University

Ph.D. Philosophy: University of Toronto

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics

Since earning his doctorate in 1996, Dr. Watkins has taught at the University of Toronto, Wayne State University, OUC, and OC.

Roger Shiner

Dr. Roger A. Shiner

B.A. (Honours) Classics and Philosophy: University of Cambridge

M.A. Philosophy: University of Alberta

M.A. : University of Cambridge

Ph.D. Philosophy: University of Cambridge

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Law, Moral and Political Philosophy

Dr. Shiner taught Philosophy at the University of Alberta for thirty-five years before moving to the Okanagan Valley in 1999. He has been teaching part-time at OUC, UBCO, and OC since 2002.

Dr. Shiner currently holds a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) grant focusing on “The Criminalization of Corporate Wrongdoing”.