Previous Posts(0)
September 2018 (5)
August 2018 (15)
July 2018 (6)
June 2018 (16)
May 2018 (6)
April 2018 (9)
March 2018 (12)
February 2018 (6)
January 2018 (5)
December 2017 (9)
November 2017 (10)
October 2017 (6)
September 2017 (13)
August 2017 (6)
July 2017 (6)
June 2017 (11)
May 2017 (12)
April 2017 (6)
March 2017 (12)
February 2017 (15)
January 2017 (12)
December 2016 (9)
November 2016 (9)
October 2016 (10)
September 2016 (6)
August 2016 (11)
July 2016 (5)
June 2016 (8)
May 2016 (12)
April 2016 (7)
March 2016 (19)
February 2016 (14)
January 2016 (14)
December 2015 (10)
November 2015 (11)
October 2015 (11)
Blog Topics(0)
Records 1 to 1 of 1
Shortlisted books announced for 10th annual George Ryga Award
Okanagan College Media Release

Ryga 2014 Number OneThree books have made the shortlist for the prestigious George Ryga Award, an annual literary award granted to a B.C. writer who has achieved an outstanding degree of social awareness for a book published within the last year.

“We’re excited with the range and quality, compassion and depth of this year’s short listed books,” says Okanagan College professor and George Ryga Award committee member, Norah Bowman-Broz.

The shortlisted books are:

Adrienne Fitzpatrick’s The Earth Remembers Everything (Caitlin Ryga 2014 Dirt of AgesPress). This fictional narrative from this Prince George author is based on her travels to some of the most violent sites in history, including Vietnam, Japan, Poland and historical First Nations areas.

Bev Sellars’ They Called Me Number One: Secrets and Survival at an Indian Residential School (Talonbooks). Hailing from Soda Creek, B.C., this non-fiction work written by the Chief of the Xat’sull First Nation recalls the experiences of three generations of women forced to attend a residential school, St. Joseph’s Mission School, in Williams Lake, B.C.

Gillian Wigmore’s Dirt of Ages (Nightwood Editions). This poetry collection by another Prince George author is written from the perspective of a meth dealer and highlights the destruction of the natural Ryga 2014 Earth Remembersenvironment and the social complexities in a pulp mill town.

The George Ryga Award was created in memory of B.C. playwright and novelist George Ryga’s commitment to social justice and his contributions to Canadian literature. This award is given to B.C. authors that have not only emphasized social justice but have also demonstrated exceptional literary skill in their works. 

The winner of the George Ryga Award receives a commemorative bust of George Ryga, plus advertising for the winning book.  

The 10th annual Ryga Award will be presented at a gala on Thursday, Mar. 20, 5:30 p.m., at Okanagan College’s Kelowna Campus Cafeteria. The event is free and will feature performances by hoop dancers and light refreshments.