Previous Posts(0)
July 2018 (5)
June 2018 (16)
May 2018 (6)
April 2018 (9)
March 2018 (12)
February 2018 (6)
January 2018 (5)
December 2017 (9)
November 2017 (10)
October 2017 (6)
September 2017 (13)
August 2017 (6)
July 2017 (6)
June 2017 (11)
May 2017 (12)
April 2017 (6)
March 2017 (12)
February 2017 (15)
January 2017 (12)
December 2016 (9)
November 2016 (9)
October 2016 (10)
September 2016 (6)
August 2016 (11)
July 2016 (5)
June 2016 (8)
May 2016 (12)
April 2016 (7)
March 2016 (19)
February 2016 (14)
January 2016 (14)
December 2015 (10)
November 2015 (11)
October 2015 (11)
September 2015 (20)
August 2015 (4)
Blog Topics(0)
Records 1 to 1 of 1
New College Board member has significant financial expertise
Okanagan College Media Release

A new face on Okanagan College’s Board of Governors brings extensive experience overseeing corporate finances and working on non-profit Boards.

Robert McGowan has been appointed by the Province to the College’s Board for a term ending July 31, 2014.

A Kelowna resident, McGowan has served as Chief Financial Officer for two publicly-traded companies and is also a former Board member and Audit Committee Chairman of a publicly-traded software firm.

“I’ve already started my education with Okanagan College,” says McGowan, explaining that he’s gone through a new Board member orientation. His first Board meeting will be March 26. “I’m coming to appreciate the complexities of the post-secondary education environment and look forward to working on behalf of the institution.”

McGowan is a graduate of the University of Winnipeg with a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and is a Chartered Accountant (B.C.) and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Manitoba (FCA). He is a former President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Manitoba and has served on the boards of several not-for-profit organizations.

“We are looking forward to drawing on Bob’s knowledge and insights as a part of the College governance,” says Board Chair Tom Styffe. “His public company and private sector experience will be an asset.”

McGowan joins appointed members Styffe, Connie Denesiuk (vice-chair), Bill Cooke, Loretta Swite-Ghostkeeper, Doug Manning, Yvonne Pinder, Sunddip Nahal and Lance Kayfish on the Board. Elected members from College constituencies include Laura Thurnheer and Lianne Rozniak, students Zachary Webster and Javid Wu as well as ex officio members Jim Hamilton (Okanagan College President) and Rick Gee (Chair of the College’s Education Council).