Previous Posts(0)
July 2018 (5)
June 2018 (16)
May 2018 (6)
April 2018 (9)
March 2018 (12)
February 2018 (6)
January 2018 (5)
December 2017 (9)
November 2017 (10)
October 2017 (6)
September 2017 (13)
August 2017 (6)
July 2017 (6)
June 2017 (11)
May 2017 (12)
April 2017 (6)
March 2017 (12)
February 2017 (15)
January 2017 (12)
December 2016 (9)
November 2016 (9)
October 2016 (10)
September 2016 (6)
August 2016 (11)
July 2016 (5)
June 2016 (8)
May 2016 (12)
April 2016 (7)
March 2016 (19)
February 2016 (14)
January 2016 (14)
December 2015 (10)
November 2015 (11)
October 2015 (11)
September 2015 (20)
August 2015 (4)
Blog Topics(0)
Records 1 to 1 of 1
OCAA opens nominations for annual Alumni Awards
On behalf of the Okanagan College Alumni Association

Nominations are now open for the Okanagan College Alumni Association’s (OCAA) 2012 Distinguished Alumni and Young Alumni Awards.

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni of Okanagan College and Okanagan University College for their contributions to their communities and demonstration of excellence in the areas of: leadership, the environment, business or industry, public or community service, the arts, and/ or support for OUC or Okanagan College.

The Young Alumni Award will recognize the outstanding contributions of an alumna or alumnus who is under the age of 35.

To qualify as distinguished or young alumni, nominees must have completed a certificate, diploma, degree, apprenticeship program or have completed a minimum of 30 academic credits at Okanagan College or OUC.

"We are always so eager to receive the nominations,” explained Kara Kazimer, President of the OCAA Board of Directors. “It is wonderful to learn of the impact that Okanagan College and OUC alumni have in their organizations, industries and communities.”

The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 30, 2012. Nominations may be made by completing an online form available at:

Past Distinguished Alumni Award recipients include: Hon. George Abbott (’71), MLA Shuswap and Minister of Education; Lee Claremont (‘89), award-winning B.C. artist; Launi Skinner (’85), CEO of First West Credit Union; Don Turri (’75), Managing Director of the Kelowna office of MacKay LLP Chartered Accountants; Nick Arkle (’81), Chief Forester with Gorman Bros Mill and local humanitarian; Robert Louie (’75), Chief of the Westbank First Nation; Dr. Jayne Brooks (’76), Director of Learning and Teaching, Okanagan College; Alan Storey (’80), an internationally recognized sculptor; Jim Cookson (’82), business manager and entrepreneur on the international stage.

Past Young Alumni Awards have been presented to Shayne Koyczan (’98), author, poet and spoken word performer; Ryan Donn (’03), musician and educator; brothers Todd (’03) and Mark Regier (’04), owners of Prestige Collision; Chris Gibbons (’07), Finance Manager of Westhills Aggregates; Corinne Inman (’02), owner Morpheus Graphics; Michelle Boshard (’97), freshwater scientist and environmentalist.

The 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award and Young Alumni Award will be selected by the Alumni Association Board of Directors and presented at a reception later this year.