Vision: The Learning and Applied Research Unit will be the “go to” support service for Okanagan College employees who want to continuously improve their skills and knowledge about teaching, learning, programming, and applied research.


Learning and Applied Research


Learning outcomes for instructional staff include being able to:

  • Redesign a course with learning outcomes aligned with assessment/evaluation methods and teaching and learning strategies;


  • Use a variety of assessment practices in courses;


  • Analyze data gathered from program mapping and alignment activities to make program redesign decisions;


  • Design and implement blended learning strategies; and


  • Expand instructional staff curiosity about teaching and learning.
  • Course and program redesign sessions


  • Program mapping and gap-analysis activities


  • Learning outcomes development


  • Formative assessment tools


  • Program review self-study support


  • Learning series


  • Individual and group consultations

Institutional-wide events and resources on teaching, learning and applied research:

  • Annual conferences


  • Faculty teaching and learning handbook


  • Orientation to teaching and learning strategies


  • Support for teaching in blended learning environments


Contact Learning and Applied Research

Okanagan College

1000 KLO Road, Room B120

Kelowna, BC V1Y 4X8

P: 250.762.5445


E: LearningAndTeaching@okanagan.bc.ca







Beverlie Dietze, Ph. D.


Local: 4528

E: bdietze@okanagan.bc.ca


Carla Whitten

Assistant to Director

Research Ethics Board Secretary

Local: 4736

E: cwhitten@okanagan.bc.ca


Erin Dreyer

Program Assistant

Local: 4630

E: Edreyer@okanagan.bc.ca





Scholarly Teaching & Inquiry into Practice


Learning outcomes for instructional staff include being able to:


  • Describe key benefits of engaging in scholarly teaching practices;


  • Identify how teaching practices correlates with student success;


  • Identify resources support; and


  • Identify potential projects that focus on teaching and inquiry.


  • Offers learning, teaching and applied research support


  • Provides support in research ethics applications, grants and proposal writing


  • Offers individual and group consultations


Applied Research


Learning outcomes for employees include being able to:


  • Develop a research project proposal;


  • Access research funding opportunities;


  • Connect with community research partners;


  • Complete an effective REB application; and


  • Support industry business partners in answering core questions.


  • Collaborates with various college departments to administer project funding


  • Provides workshops on writing successful research proposals

Learning and Applied Research Program Advisory Committee (LTAC)

as of August 2017

  1. Beverlie Dietze (co-chair). Bdietze@okanagan.bc.ca


  2. Director of IT Services, TBD (co-chair). Acting Co-Chair: Ryan Ebner, rebner@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Angela Checkley: ACheckley@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Carla Whitten: CWhitten@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Erin Dreyer Edreyer@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Darrell Skinner: dskinner@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Eva Gavaris: EGavaris@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Jane Muskens: jmuskens@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Joseph Hobart: JHobart@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Lukas Skulmoski: LSkulmoski@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Mary Kline:MEKline@okanagan.bc.ca
  1. Yvonne Moritz: YMoritz@okanagan.bc.ca