Math & Stat Dept Faculty

The Mathematics Faculty at OC have a wide range of expertise, but whether you are taking Linear Algebra or Business Math you will find the instruction first class!


Doug Birtwistle
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C179
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4337
Email: DBirtwistl "at"


Norman Corbett
Campus: Kelowna
Office: B226
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4320
Email: NCorbett "at"


Scott Heard
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C104
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4794
Email: SHeard "at"

Joe Hobart






Joe Hobart
Campus: Kelowna
Office: B228
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4402
Email: JHobart "at"

Joe has been teaching since 2001 (UNBC, Selkirk College). Joe usually teaches discrete mathematics, calculus, mathematics of finance… and analysis and number theory.  Joe is currently the Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics.



Claude Hurtubise
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C104
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4358
Email: CHurtubise "at"


Campus: Kalamalka (Vernon)
Office: D360
Phone: 250-545-7291 ext. 2235
Email: CLee "at"



Brian May
Campus: Salmon Arm 
Office: SA114
Phone: 250-832-2126 ext. 8212
Email: BMay "at"

Brian joined the faculty in 2005.  He teaches linear algebra, calculus and business math.

Chris Melin





Chris Melin
Campus:Salmon Arm
Phone: 250-832-2126 ext. 8218
Email: CMelin "at"



Leslie Shayer
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C227
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4371
Email: LShayer "at"


Shaun Strohm
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C104C
Phone: 4707
Email: sstrohm "at"

Photo of Satoshi Tomoda




Satoshi Tomoda
Campus: Kelowna
Office: B216D
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext. 4645
Email: STomoda "at"

Hall of Fame

Dave Murray


Dave Murray

Dave, now retired, taught mathematics and statistics at Okanagan College since time immemorial. At one time or another, he has taught everything from basic arithmetic to algebraic topology. His mathematical interests include algebraic topology and computer algebra systems such as MAPLE. Due to his vast and wide ranging experience, Dave was Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics from 2005 to 2011.