Faculty

 

kathybockhold2 Kathy Bockhold
BSc, MSc, BEd, PhD (McGill and Pasteur Institute)
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C224
Phone: 4542
e-mail: kbockhold@okanagan.bc.ca

I received my PhD from McGill University and the Pasteur Institute in Paris where I worked on characterizing muscle stem cells. Upon completion of my degree, post docs and running a lab in Ottawa it became apparent that teaching held my interest, so I taught high school for five years before joining Okanagan College in 2003. At OC I specialize in Anatomy & Physiology and Developmental Biology.

bruce pic Bruce Campbell
BSc, MSc (Alberta)
Campus: Kelowna
Office:C290A
Phone:4784
e-mail: bcampbell@okanagan.bc.ca
juliedais Julie Dais
BSc, PhD (Calgary)
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C158A 
Phone: 4756
e-mail: jdais@okanagan.bc.ca

I teach a variety of first and second year courses at Okanagan College including biology for non-majors and second-year Health Sciences.  I like to try different methods of teaching to appeal to all learning styles.  At the end of the day I hope my students will want to learn more about biology and health beyond the classroom.
daledonovan Dale Donovan
BSc, MSc (UBC)
Campus: Kelowna, Vernon
Office: C240A (K), D358 (V)
Phone: 4705 (K), 2240 (V)
e-mail: ddonovan@okanagan.bc.ca
laurie donovan Laurie Donovan
BSc, MSc (UBC)
Campus: Vernon
Office: D331B
Phone: 2283
e-mail: ldonovan@okanagan.bc.ca

I am passionate about all things Biological. I particularly enjoy teaching Ecology and Human Anatomy and Physiology.  My research interests involve the determination of past climates in the North Okanagan as well as species interaction in the Okanagan' terrestrial ecosystems.

After work I like nothing better than a long walk and then settling down to a couple of Milk Bones.

John Ensing
BSc, MSc, PhD (Guelph)
Campus: Vernon
Office: C302
Phone: 2216
e-mail: jensing@okanagan.bc.ca
sharon Sharon Mansiere
BA, BSc, MSc (Victoria)
Campus: Penticton
Office: Sunoka 013
Phone: 3234
e-mail: smansiere@okanagan.bc.ca
Michael Mitsch
BSc, MSc, PhD (McMaster)
Campus: Salmon Arm
Office: SA117
Phone: 8217
e-mail: mmitsch@okanagan.bc.ca
picep3 Ellen Pedersen
BSc (Hons), MSc (Dalhousie)
Campus: Kelowna
Office:  C158A 
Phone: 4521
e-mail: empedersen@okanagan.bc.ca

Retiring as of August 1, 2017


erin Erin Radomske, Department Chair
BSc, MSc (UNBC)
Campus: Kelowna
Office: C215
Phone: 4485
e-mail: eradomske@okanagan.bc.ca

I primarily teach the biology courses for the Water Engineering Technology program (Environmental Biology, Water and Wastewater Microbiology, Freshwater Plants and Animals, and Limnological Methods.  My BSc was in Freshwater Science from the former Okanagan University College and my MSc focused on bacterioplankton and phytoplankton in lakes.  Also, I can change from high heels to hip waders in under a minute!


Sandra Rosenberg
BSc, MSc (SFU)
Campus: Penticton
Office: PC236
Local: 3229
email: srosenberg@okanagan.bc.ca
stacey Stacey Sakakibara
BSc, MSc (UBC)
Campus: Kelowna, Vernon
Office: C368B
Phone: 4301
e-mail: ssakakibara@okanagan.bc.ca

I am proud to be a former Okanagan College student, and feel extremely fortunate to be working and teaching in the same environment that provided me with such a strong start in science.   After Okanagan College I finished my BSc and MSc at UBC Vancouver, specializing in genetics and molecular biology.  In research, I have worked on applying various DNA fingerprinting techniques to nursery plants and forest fungi, as well as a foray into characterizing protein markers for brain tumours. 

 At OC I teach Biochemistry, Genetics, Cell Biology and Microbiology, a collection of courses which provide neverending opportunities for me to learn about new discoveries in biology along with the students.